Author Topic: A new challenge  (Read 52218 times)

Basvarken

• Global Moderator
  • hobby luthier. gibson bass nerd
    • View Profile
    • www.enkoo.nl
A new challenge
« on: December 10, 2009, 02:08:01 PM »
Last summer I took up an old plan of mine to see if I could build my own bass. I have no experience whatsoever on the craft of lutherie.
So I looked around if there was some sort of course I could join. And there happened to be one only a few miles from where I live.

So I started drawing and sketching the ideas I had.
It is going to based on my favorite bass. But it has to be different, because I don't need another bass that is the same.  ;D

So this is what I came up with:

- Shortscale bass shaped like a Les Paul (surprise)  ;)
- Mahogany body with a contoured bookmatched flamed maple top.
- To save some weight, the upper bout of the body is chambered and there is a Rickenbacker-ish F-hole.
- Mahogany neck with a volute at the topnut.
- The truss rod will be accesible by unscrewing the two 24th fretmarkers and lifting the last two positions of the fretboard.

- At the neck there will be two G3 single coils.
- At the bridge there is going to be an Artec AlNiCO mudbucker.

- At the upper horn I've planned a 6 way rotary switch that allows me to choose:
• neck G3 pickup,
• middle G3 pickup,
• both G3's as humbucker,
• bridge Artec pickup,
• neck G3 pickup plus bridge Artec pickup,
• all 3 pickups.

- On the top side I will have one volume potmeter.
- On the back side I'm going to make a small hole in the control cavity plate that allows me to dial a hidden tone potmeter with a small screwdriver if desired. I will probably not use it very often. And I'd like to keep the top side clean.

- The bridge is a BaCHbird bridge with saddles notched at 17,5 mm stringspacing
I bought a tune-o-matic for bass first, but that one had the saddles spaced at 19mm (which I think is too wide for shortscale)