Author Topic: Faking 80s Basses?  (Read 2593 times)

eb2

• View Profile
Faking 80s Basses?
« on: September 16, 2008, 01:26:10 PM »
I just had a strange experience with my local shop.  I have been doing business there for several years, and usually with the owner.  I brought some stuff in to consign, and he wasn't there but one of his guy was.  I brought in an 82 P that I bought as a wreck and have had for around seven or eight years.  It has a clean neck, and an oversprayed body but most of the original finish, and I also replaced the bridge.  In general a nice clean if re-done to some extent bass.  They went over it and the other stuff I brought in but never asked me what was up for particulars.  The guy starts telling me I have a refinished 90s Mexican bass, and someone ripped me off, they pulled the neck and guard and it has Mexican stickers. I said the "oh really" thing and just took it home.  Now, I know it isn't - besides the 82 date, and ground lug/routing like an 80s body, I paid very little for it.  It would have cost more to fake it than what I bought it for.  But is anyone faking late 70s basses out of Mexican basses?  Or, as I suspect, the guy knew some stuff didn't match and was trying to get me to sell it straight out for peanuts?
Model One and Schallers?  Ish.

Dave W

• Administrator
  • Got time to breathe, got time for music
    • View Profile
Re: Faking 80s Basses?
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2008, 02:27:13 PM »
I'm not aware of anybody doing that regularly. Hard to imagine there would be a big call for it.

Freuds_Cat

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2008, 02:31:45 PM »
If your mates with the owner, I would take it back to him and ask his opinion. If he is a stand up kinda operator you might be doing him a favor in letting him know that one of his staff is either less than the expert he claims or a bit of a hustler.
Digresion our specialty!

eb2

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2008, 10:59:25 AM »