Author Topic: What's a Good Wireless System?  (Read 2735 times)

rahock

• View Profile
What's a Good Wireless System?
« on: April 25, 2010, 05:23:58 AM »
I'm thinking of picking up a wireless hook up. I'll be using it with my 70 and 51 Precisions and also with my Olympia electric/ acoustic. I'm real curious as to how this will work with an acoustic. I have no experience at all with wireless systems so any help in making a selection would be much appreciated. I'm also curious as to what kind of prices to expect.
A guitar player I get together with has a Nady that he picked up a few years ago for just over $100 and it works really well. most of the bigger names like Shure are better than double that amount. Once again , I'm pretty clueless when it comes to wireless  stuff.
Rick

bassvirtuoso

• My God, it's full of chrome!
    • View Profile
Re: What's a Good Wireless System?
« Reply #1 on: April 25, 2010, 09:18:27 AM »
I just bought a Line 6 X2 digital wireless system. Unfortunately I haven't used it yet, but I have heard such great things that I bought one. The one bad thing I've heard about them is the connector cable included, but I know Butch at Bayou Audio Cables does make a much better replacement.
-Dave

German-American Chrome Fan Club Member #666

Psycho Bass Guy

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 25, 2010, 01:41:37 PM »
One thing of major consideration with the acoustic is to find a transmitter that has a very high input impedance or it'll load down the piezo output and make it sound very nasal and kill your dynamics and low end. Even though most acoustic/electric instruments are "buffered" with an onboard preamp, a 9 volt battery can't supply enough current to the preamp to keep the instrument sounding natural if it is loaded down too much.

gearHed289

• View Profile
    • Book of faces...
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2010, 08:10:06 PM »