Author Topic: String Heights on a P ?  (Read 2741 times)

rahock

• View Profile
String Heights on a P ?
« on: February 04, 2010, 09:56:37 AM »
Measuring at the 12th fret , where are you Precsion players setting your height?
I just started playing my  70 P again and it is sounding great , but last set up on it I had it set a bit too high. I tend to go for a bit on the high side anyway , but I went a little overboard . I've hit a point where it causes cramps and fatigue to my hand.
I was getting a little fret rattle and I took the action up to eliminate it. I think I need to negotiate with the fret rattle or take it in for some work.
Anyway , I'm very curious what you guys set your Ps at, particularly those of you who go to high side.
Thanks,
Rick

patman

• View Profile
Re: String Heights on a P ?
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2010, 10:09:45 AM »
Whatever the bass, I slide a silver dollar under the E string at the 12th fret...use it for a feeler gauge.

G string side is proportionately lower.

nofi

« Reply #2 on: February 04, 2010, 11:46:59 AM »
i just raise the strings bit by bit until i get where it feels comfortable. i do wish i had a silver dollar, though. :)

rahock

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2010, 06:25:39 AM »
i just raise the strings bit by bit until i get where it feels comfortable. i do wish i had a silver dollar, though. :)

This is pretty much what I do. Comfort and fret rattle are my guiding factors.
Silver dollar........hmmm, I wonder if four quarters or ten dimes would work the same ;)
Rick
« Last Edit: February 05, 2010, 09:44:56 AM by rahock »

nofi

« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2010, 07:55:40 AM »
some folks don't mind the strings bouncing off the frets but i hate it. i also like a higher action due to the abg playing. unplugged i don't want to hear any metallic noise out of the electric, just free ringing strings.

Pilgrim

• View Profile
    • YouTube channel
« Reply #5 on: February 05, 2010, 10:26:38 AM »