Author Topic: Electric trains...............  (Read 3102 times)

TBird1958

• "you know the rule, No boots,No glam!"
    • View Profile
    • www.thenastyhabits.com
Electric trains...............
« on: February 27, 2009, 02:49:55 PM »
 Way off topic here,
When I'm not being a Drag Queenie Thunderbird playing aspiring alcoholic, I'm actually a quiet dorky person when I have the time and inclination I build models of trains in HO scale. My work primarily focuses on a railroad that ran inbetween Denver, CO. and Salt Lake City, UT called the Rio Grande, the models are period correct for the years 1970-76, when there were many changes taking place with regard to locomotives and rolling stock. The models are all researched and based on actual prototypes, I've custom painted, detailed and weathered (relic'd if you will!) most of them so they look more realistic - had nice time out in the sunshine taking pics too!
A little fiction from me for the captions, I used to work as an editor for a model magazine.....
I'm such a dork!  ;D   

Here's an EMD SD45 leading two more with a heavy train.

A tank car built from parts, custom painted, this model won a ribbon in a National contest.

A gondola modified to transport automobile frames from the midwest to California for assembly.

The Rio Grande crossed the Rockies and trains were always heavy, often requiring the use of a "helper" on the rear of the train, this is a very new GP40 putting its 3000hp to good use.

Going the other direction a little later we have an EMD SD45 demo, likely working off some horsepower
owed to the railroad while other units are being repaired under warrenty.

Last we have the Dome Observation car from the Rio Grande Zephyer, the last non-Amtrak passenger train in the U.S. The prototype was made entirely of Stainless Steel, a beautiful car and design statement!
« Last Edit: February 27, 2009, 05:19:21 PM by TBird1958 »