Gear Discussion Forums > Bass Amps & Effects

Alembic F-2B Rehab

(1/2) > >>

chromium:
My Alembic F-2B preamp bit the dust a couple months ago (loud hum, low output), and I finally got around to looking at it the other night.  I took some preamp p0rn pics along the way to share with anyone who's interested in this stuff.  This is my first attempt at repairing any tube-based gear, and so I took some time to read up about it (hence the not getting to it for two months) and try to approach it safely.

This is a two channel preamp inspired by Fender's Dual Showman.  At the heart of each channel is a 12AX7A/7025 tube, and I've been using it as it came to me for the past couple years - with a newer Sovtek in channel A, and an Amperex in channel B.

Its my only pre, and I use it for home recording with bass, guitar, and keyboards.  With the latter, I usually run both channels in stereo.  The different tubes that came in it gave a slightly different character to each channel.  That was cool in a way, but for stereo use I decided a matched set might be better.  I found a nice old pair of GE tubes on ebay for not much, and decided to give those a spin:

In an effort to avoid barbecuetion, I made a little contraption to discharge the power supply filter caps.  Figure I'll get some reuse out of this, since I also want to go thru and recap the tube amp in my old Hammond at some point in the future.  I just took an old alligator clip test lead and soldered a resistor inline (I used a 10W, 150 ohm).  I clipped one end to ground, and held the other against the + lead of each cap one-by-one ~30 sec. each, and double-checked 'em with a voltmeter afterward to make sure they discharged:

I guess you can also do this with a screwdriver shorting across the leads, but I don't know how bad the sparks would be. :o  Didn't want to scar up the circuit board.