Author Topic: Hiya, all!  (Read 1659 times)

Tim Armstrong

• View Profile
Hiya, all!
« on: March 16, 2008, 10:12:05 AM »
Dave invited me over here a while back, but being the very (aging) poster child for ADD, I promptly forgot about it!  Fortunately, Dave is a forgiving soul, and mentioned the place again.  Thanks, Dave!

Looking over the members list, I see a few of y'all that I know from the TDPRI, who know about me from my relentless recycling of topics.  :D

For the rest, I'm a 48 year old beach town bar band bassist, playing in a band in Ocean City, Maryland called The Mood Swingers with my guitarist brother Mike and our drummer Bubba.  We play classic rock, blues, country, folk, and if the money is right we've done bluegrass, horn-driven blues (we have some guys we call) and zydeco.  One of the good things about living in a resort area: I made half of my modest income over the last few years as a musician!

I started playing bass and guitar back in high school in the mid-70s in Largo, Maryland, playing URB in the orchestra.  While I was in college, I played in a basement band with some buddies (as in we never left our drummer's basement for gigs!), using our guitarist's Gibson EB0:

I just erased the rest of my bass narrative, as it was achieving "War and Peace" dimensions, instead here's a timeline (note that I also was sometimes gigging as a guitarist, so there are some gaps):

1977- Gibson EB0 through whatever amp I could scrounge.
1982- Bradley (MIJ) Jazz Bass copy through same.
1985- Fender fretless P-Bass through 100-watt solid-state kit guitar head into 2x15 Fender cab.
1987- 60s Epiphone Wilshire Bass through same.
1988- 1988 Fender MIJ Jazz Bass through Peavey Mark IV head/2x15" Peavey Black Widow cab.
1992- late 60s MIJ Violin Bass (no brand name on it!) through 1968 Fender Bassman head into chopped Kustom cab (single 15" speaker).
1999- Crown MIJ P-Bass copy through Traynor YBA-1 Bassmaster head through 2x12 Carvin cab.