Author Topic: Any info on 1970's 15" Fane speakers?  (Read 2359 times)

Freuds_Cat

• View Profile
Any info on 1970's 15" Fane speakers?
« on: July 29, 2010, 10:43:36 PM »
I just picked up a cab with 2 x 15" Fane speakers for next to nothing. I have no knowledge except I have heard of Fane guitar speakers from guit4rists before. The label is blue and says Heavey Duty High power Loudspeaker and few other generic comments. There is a number on it. 15108. Any info appreciated.
Digresion our specialty!

Chris P.

• Warwickhoer
    • View Profile
    • The La La Lies
Re: Any info on 1970's 15" Fane speakers?
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2010, 11:12:08 PM »
Hiwatt used Fane speakers in their cabs. Modern Hiwatts have Celestions, but you can buy them with Fanes if you pay some more. I guess it could be speakers out of a Hiwatt 2x15?

My former guitar player has a VOX AC30, which is made at the end of the 70s or early 80s and that one has Fanes too. I guess they were quite common in the UK?

For a lot of knowledge about vintage amps and speakers, I often visit the Plexi Palace Bulletin Board. (use google, I don't have a direct libk by hand)

Highlander

• There Ken be only one...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 02:43:07 PM »
Now you need a nice vintage Hiwatt to go with all that OOMPH...!

Hold fire a cotton pickin' minute, you Southern Hemisphere varmint... didn't you just pick up a couple of truly vicious fifteens for something else...?

You just filling up the gas-tank, methinks... ;D
The random mind of a Silver Surfer...
If research was easy, it wouldn't need doing...
Staring at that event horizon is a dirty job, but someone has to do it; something's going to come back out of it one day...

godofthunder

• Keep On Rock'n !
    • View Profile
    • Johnny Smoke
« Reply #3 on: July 30, 2010, 08:47:29 PM »