Author Topic: they finally done it!  (Read 2455 times)

sniper

• one bark....one kill....got mud?
    • View Profile
they finally done it!
« on: August 15, 2010, 02:27:32 PM »
i have been bugging Warmoth for almost 5 years to make short scale bass parts and have always hit a wall with my efforts.

now they do it!

http://www.warmoth.com/Pages/ClassicShowcase.aspx?Bass=1&Shape=85&Path=JSeries,Necks,30Warhead&Body=1

i guess it is a start even though everything looks Fenderish.
I can be true to you sweety until I find a nice medium scale with great breasts. ... CW

Pilgrim

• View Profile
    • YouTube channel
Re: they finally done it!
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2010, 03:36:37 PM »
Dang!  No Tele body to fit the short scale necks...
"A computer lets you make more mistakes faster than any other invention with the possible exceptions of handguns and tequila."

Dave W

• Administrator
  • Got time to breathe, got time for music
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2010, 03:50:55 PM »
There's one big unanswered question here: neck end dimensions. They say it's not compatible with their regular 34" scale bodies but it's not clear why. Is it an issue of pickup and bridge placement, or is it a matter of neck pocket dimensions? Or both?

Short scale Fender basses have Strat-width neck pockets (2 3/16") although the tongue area may be longer than on the guitars. Long scale Fenders have 2 1/2" wide pockets. If these necks have Strat-width pockets then you could probably use a number of different guitar bodies and not just Warmoth's J version.

drbassman

• Gone but not forgotten
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2010, 05:46:34 PM »
Very cool!  A bit pricey, but definitely well executed.  Neck pocket shouldn't be a problem if you can do pockets yourself.  You would think they'd retool the more popular bass bodies to accommodate the new necks.  How hard can it be with a CNC machine?
I'm fixin' a hole where the rain gets in..........cuz I'm built for a kilt!