Author Topic: Classic rock cover bands  (Read 5385 times)

slinkp

• View Profile
    • slinkp home page
Classic rock cover bands
« on: June 18, 2014, 09:50:42 AM »
Sometimes a gig of a bunch of moldy oldies is just what the doctor ordered!

I live and work in NYC (to be more precise I live in central Brooklyn and work in lower Manhattan) ... the band scene is very competitive, dominated by young hipsters, and 99% original material. I haven't gigged in Manhattan in many years now.  I still love the music scene here but I don't have the time or energy to deal with trying to play in NY clubs anymore.

Recently, a guitar player I've been playing with for many years, who has long ago moved out to the suburbs on Long Island, asked me if I would sub on bass for his local cover band - a bunch of guys from his neighborhood.  The other players are not really up to his level, but they're enthusiastic and have developed a good group sound, and the set list sounded fun.  So, last Saturday night I went out to the venue, a local live music rock-n-roll bar of the sort that doesn't really exist in the city anymore, where covers are the norm and you go to drink and enjoy some well executed familiar hits from decades past.  The audience ranged in age from about 40 to 60 (the band fit in that demographic as well).   AND... aside from free beer I got $50 in my pocket which is more than I ever took home on most gigs playing originals, that's for sure.

IT WAS A BLAST!

We had a number of train wrecks, due to various factors (varying experience levels among the band, unfamiliar material, new bass player...)
but nobody much cared... the small crowd was very enthusiastic, and people wanted us to keep playing beyond the end of our set list, so we bashed out "The Seeker" totally unrehearsed, and "Who Are You" which we had all played before but never in the same band.

Set list:

The Waiting

Psycho Killer

Remedy

Pulling Mussels from a Shell

Can’t Stand Losing You

The Weight