Author Topic: Going to add a cabinet  (Read 8895 times)

drbassman

• Gone but not forgotten
    • View Profile
Going to add a cabinet
« on: March 21, 2013, 07:06:18 AM »
I've been mulling this over for months and I think I'm going to add a cabinet to my Mesa rig.  I've been waffling between a 15" vs. 4x10.  I already have a great 15" Mesa cab, but I want more bass than the 1x12" Scout main cab is giving me.  Our club is small, so volume isn't an issue.  I just want more bottom end and I want it to be relatively clean, not muddy.

What do you think?
I'm fixin' a hole where the rain gets in..........cuz I'm built for a kilt!

Dave W

• Administrator
  • Got time to breathe, got time for music
    • View Profile
Re: Going to add a cabinet
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2013, 07:56:49 AM »
IMHO you'll get more bass with the 1x15.

drbassman

• Gone but not forgotten
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 21, 2013, 08:02:38 AM »

I was thinking that, but I'm a real novice when it comes to cabinets!  My audiology background tells me you're correct, but numnerous bass buddies locally keep telling me 4x10s have "just as much bass."  I find that hard to believe knowing how the size of the speakers and wave lengths generated by them (and freq resp) will have an effect.  Maybe the differences are small and not that discernable to the naked ear, but I sure can hear the difference between my Mesa 15 vs. the 12.

Dave W

• Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 21, 2013, 08:06:03 AM »
The 4x10 will probably be louder, depending on the cabinet design, and some people mistake a louder low end with more bass.

drbassman

• Gone but not forgotten
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: March 21, 2013, 08:20:54 AM »
The 4x10 will probably be louder, depending on the cabinet design, and some people mistake a louder low end with more bass.