Author Topic: Recording experts: a question  (Read 1225 times)

Dave W

• Administrator
  • Got time to breathe, got time for music
    • View Profile
Recording experts: a question
« on: April 05, 2009, 08:49:08 PM »
I received a CD from an an old acquaintance that includes 5 of his obscure old singles that were digitized from old 45s, not from master tapes. Problem is, the vocals on these 10 tracks almost sound like he's lisping. The old records weren't originally that way, so this is something that was done when the tracks were digitized.

From what I've read, this might be caused by too much de-essing. Is there any possible way to negate this effect now?

Dave W

• Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Recording experts: a question
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2009, 10:38:15 AM »
(bump)

ramone57

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2009, 11:03:31 AM »
I'm no expert by any means but ime, once something has been mixed down, it's difficult to un-do parts of the process.  hopefully you'll find some kind of fix.  be sure to let us know how it turns out.

eb2

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2009, 12:48:13 PM »
It depends on how the 45s were recorded.  If it were on one of those USB turntables that are popular now, nothing can be done.  They are pretty f#cking crappy and have horrid cartridges.  Older 45s sound better when lifted with a good cart and a good needle.  Especially if they are older 60s 45s recorded in mono.  There is a right way and a wrong way, and if the signal was put on the CD via a newer turntable, you have to go find the original 45 and do it over.  I had a guy send me a CD of some old lps that he recorded on a USB Numark, and they went straight into the trash after I listened for about one minute.
Model One and Schallers?  Ish.

chromium

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2009, 01:21:04 PM »