Author Topic: difference between Vintage & Current basses?  (Read 7523 times)

ack1961

• View Profile
difference between Vintage & Current basses?
« on: February 17, 2011, 10:04:57 AM »
Hey all,
I have a few more questions...I have a feeling that my questions may be annoying, but I'm fairly new to all this and not a spring chicken, so I'd like to get answers before I'm worm food.

I read a lot from this forum and from TB, and one of the often used comparisons is "vintage vs modern".  I suspect, in most cases, they're referring to tone.
Plain and simple: I don't know what that means.

Can someone describe what "Vintage Tone" is and maybe give me an example of a song that clearly illustrates that sound (and the bass/gear in the recording)?
Can someone describe what "Modern Tone" is and give me an example of a song & gear as well?

Also, for those of you folks that have been playing bass for many years, I'd be real interested to hear what the differences are between a production bass from the 70's and a current similar model bass.  I know that's quite a broad spectrum, and it would easier if I used "Fender P" as the comparison criteria, but I know there's quite a few guys on LBO that have been playing for a while and don't lean towards Fender basses.
I know that actual production techniques/tools have changed over the years, but I'm talking about the end product.

Thanks,
Ack

« Last Edit: February 17, 2011, 10:20:12 AM by ack1961 »
Have Fun.  Be Nice.  Mean People Suck.

Barklessdog

• View Profile
Re: difference between Vintage & Current basses?
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2011, 12:14:44 PM »
Just talking tone, to me "Vintage Tone" is a passive bass

Modern tone would be an active bass, just my opinion.

exiledarchangel

• I like big necks and I cannot lie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2011, 12:55:01 PM »
Agree, a passive bass, especially when strung with flats, is the definition for the vintage tone for me.