Author Topic: A Thunderbird dilemma  (Read 1789 times)

ajkula66

• View Profile
A Thunderbird dilemma
« on: February 22, 2020, 10:16:01 PM »
A non-Thunderbird player stopping by to ask for advice...

First and foremost, I apologize for asking a question that was likely asked before but search on the subject matter got me pretty much nowhere.

Long story short, after trying 30 or so basses within a matter of a couple of days, my bass-playing-son fell in love, head-over-heels with an Epi Vintage Pro.

I'm not cheap but tend to be frugal and am not necessarily keen on buying new. The problem is that GC used has zero to offer, and what I see on Reverb is priced way too close to new for my liking.

Here's my dilemma: by the time I add a case to VP, I'm looking at close to $900 with taxes. I know that I can pick a used Gibson Bird for 100-150 more.

What am I missing ? Are VPs *that* good when compared to more recent Gibbys ?

The only Birds I have some experience with are Bicentennials, but they are out of the equation, so please educate me...

Thanks in advance.
« Last Edit: February 23, 2020, 12:10:41 PM by ajkula66 »
"...knowledge is a deadly friend when no one sets the rules..." (King Crimson)

godofthunder

• Keep On Rock'n !
    • View Profile
    • Johnny Smoke
Re: A Thunderbird dilemma
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2020, 12:07:17 PM »
   I've been playing birds for over 40 years, I have had just about everything put out by Gibson and have a collection of vintage Thunderbirds and assorted Gibsons to compare the VP to.  The VP is a bargain in the any man's book. Easily equal in quality to Gibsons contemporary offerings,  personally I think they spank Gibson.  Along with my collection of vintage and contemporary birds I have three Vintage Pros, I think that much of them.  Best Thunderbird built since the 60's imho........even better in some ways.
Maker of the Badbird Bridge, "intonation without modification" for your vintage Gibson Thunderbird

ajkula66