1 (3.8%)
Don't care
4 (15.4%)
I like listening to, but not playing fretless
2 (7.7%)
Love well played fretless bass, hate it when intonation is out the window
5 (19.2%)

Total Members Voted: 23

Author Topic: Fretless - Yea or Nay?!!!  (Read 7552 times)

hieronymous

• View Profile
    • soundcloud.com/hieronymous-seven
Fretless - Yea or Nay?!!!
« on: April 13, 2009, 11:31:26 AM »
I bought my first fretless while I was in high school - an unlined Fender Japan Jazz Bass. But I wasn't mature/experienced enough to play it well, so it usually just sat there gathering dust. I finally gave it away.

Recently, however, I started playing fretless again - the bottom neck of my Alembic doubleneck is fretless, and has dots where every fret would be - that really helped! And I recently purchased an early-'70s Guild M-85 fretless, and lo and behold - even though it only has dots for 3rd, 5th, 7th, etc., they are where the fret would be instead of inbetween! The fretless I had in high school had them where they would be on a fretted bass - no wonder I had so much trouble!

So I am enjoying playing this Guild, but it can still be frustrating to hit the notes right on. I'm just noodling around the house - I don't think I would play out with it, at least for a while.

Also, fretless often brings Jaco to mind, but of course there are other players and other approaches to use. I am definitely not going for a Jaco vibe, just trying to do my own thing.

SO - any one else have experiences, positive or negative? Absolutely love fretless playing or despise it? I'm actually more interested in hearing the negative opinions, believe it or not!

Rhythm N. Bliss

• Steiny Spirit Mon
    • View Profile
    • MySpace:
Re: Fretless - Yea or Nay?!!!
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2009, 12:20:38 PM »
Tony Franklin is The King of Fretless aka The Fretless Monster!!

www.myspace.com/fretlessmonster

I love Boz Burrell's playing too!!