Author Topic: Unbroken 1964 Gibson Thunderbird IV!!!  (Read 4945 times)

pilgrim9

• View Profile
Re: Unbroken 1964 Gibson Thunderbird IV!!!
« Reply #15 on: January 08, 2014, 12:03:21 AM »
$7500 is a few used cars, I can not believe the price of vintage gear now days.
« Last Edit: January 08, 2014, 12:17:23 AM by pilgrim9 »
If you push something hard enough it must fall over.

dadagoboi

• huh?...HUH?
    • View Profile
    • CATALDO BASSES
« Reply #16 on: January 08, 2014, 04:28:16 AM »
$7500 is a few used cars, I can not believe the price of vintage gear now days.

The economy is improving and $7500 ain't what it used to be!

gweimer

• View Profile
    • My BandMix Site
« Reply #17 on: January 08, 2014, 05:58:03 AM »
When I played for a living, I used to say that I spent more money on my bass than I did on my car.  I wasn't driving much of a car back then, either.  I've gone through more than 50 vehicles since I got my license, and I've had the same car for 11 years now.  These days, it costs as much for me to replace the lug nut caps on my car as my whole car used to cost.
Telling tales of drunkenness and cruelty

Denis

• Harvester of Appendixes
    • View Profile
« Reply #18 on: January 08, 2014, 06:46:22 AM »
Earlier this year I put a new motor in my '93 240 wagon and I'd do it again. Most of the new cars I'd be willing to buy and drive I can't (or don't want to) afford.
My Dodge W250 diesel is a '91 and if I had to replace it I'd replace it with another '91-93 diesel.

$8000 would get me a replacement for either of those or I could finish both Indians AND an old Ducati I have.

Piffle on spending $8k for a bass!
Why did Salvador Dali cross the road?
Clocks.

dadagoboi

• huh?...HUH?
    • View Profile
    • CATALDO BASSES
« Reply #19 on: January 08, 2014, 07:39:20 AM »

Piffle on spending $8k for a bass!

Here's my line of thought when it comes to basses: