Author Topic: pinkie?  (Read 5140 times)

SKATE RAT

• too much chicken will make you blind.
    • View Profile
pinkie?
« on: September 11, 2009, 11:30:05 PM »
seriously,how often do you guys use your pinkie?
'72 GIBSON SB-450, '74 UNIVOX HIGHFLYER, '75 FENDER P-BASS, '76 ARIA 4001, '76 GIBSON RIPPER, '77 GIBSON G-3, '78 GUILD B-301, '79 VANTAGE FLYING V BASS, '80's HONDO PROFESSIONAL II, '80's IBANEZ ROADSTAR II, '92 GIBSON LPB-1, 'XX WAR BASS, LTD VIPER 104, '01 GIBSON SG SPECIAL, RAT FUZZ AND TUBES

Rhythm N. Bliss

• Steiny Spirit Mon
    • View Profile
    • MySpace:
Re: pinkie?
« Reply #1 on: September 12, 2009, 12:22:22 AM »
Hardly ever used it at first but it's my most calloused finger now.

rahock

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 12, 2009, 05:05:04 AM »
I recently got one of those Varigrip hand excercisers that you often see in music stores. I always thought they were ridiculous until I tried one.
I work out regularly , I've been playing bass for over 40 years and I have pretty strong hands. These Varigrip things allow you to work each finger individually. Any other hand excerciser I've ever seen works your entire hand as one group of muscles. When you work your pinky individually, you will be amazed at how weak and uncoordinated it is :o
Almost every stringed instrument player tends to use their ring finger to support the pinky most of the time . Strenghtening your pinky will provide you with greater dexterity and you will use it more.
Playing scales for hours on end  is a good thing for strength and dexterity but it is nothing compared to isolating that little finger and working it out on it's own :).
Take your little girly man pinky and pump it up ;D
Rick

godofthunder

• Keep On Rock'n !
    • View Profile
    • Johnny Smoke
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2009, 05:11:48 AM »
 I can't really say how often but it is in the mix some where, especially for those long reaches.