Author Topic: Ampeg SVT3 Pro  (Read 3615 times)

Nocturnal

• View Profile
    • Myspace page
Ampeg SVT3 Pro
« on: January 19, 2011, 09:31:12 PM »
Does anyone here own/use one of these heads? Any former users that want to warn people away from them? Any and all insights would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Andy
TWINKLE TWINKLE LITTLE BAT
HOW I WONDER WHAT YOU'RE AT

Psycho Bass Guy

• View Profile
Re: Ampeg SVT3 Pro
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2011, 09:39:40 PM »
Run like hell. If you're a member of Talkbass, search for my posts about it there.

gearHed289

• View Profile
    • Book of faces...
« Reply #2 on: January 20, 2011, 09:25:30 AM »
Awesome amp. I've been using the same one for 14 years. There was a problem (I forget what) the first few months I had it. It was fixed under warranty and has not given me the slightest trouble since. Hundreds of gigs... Not quite the real thing (I have a '74 SVT), but as close as you're gonna get in a 26 pound package. I recently A/B'd it against an Orange Terror Bass head and it was no contest.

Dave W

• Administrator
  • Got time to breathe, got time for music
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 20, 2011, 10:16:38 AM »
My older son bought his from Dale (Thunderbird) Barnes in the early days of the Pit, about 2002. It needed a minor repair after shipping and IIRC it's been in the shop once since, but it's been his go-to gig amp for years.

I had custody of it for a year when he was stationed in Korea (2003). It had a lot more preamp control variation than my Mesa Bass 400+ which can be useful, but I preferred the Mesa's tone. Call me a dinosaur.

Nocturnal

• View Profile
    • Myspace page
« Reply #4 on: January 20, 2011, 10:19:23 AM »
Thanks for the input guys. Psycho, could you give me some details please? I did a search but after 20 pages couldn't find anything connected to you.

Thanks

Psycho Bass Guy

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2011, 03:41:23 PM »