Poll

Which of these amps do you prefer the sound of?

Acoustic 150b
0 (0%)
Sunn Coliseum Bass
3 (100%)

Total Members Voted: 3

Author Topic: Acoustic 150b vs. Sunn Coliseum Bass  (Read 9500 times)

Mike00

• View Profile
Acoustic 150b vs. Sunn Coliseum Bass
« on: October 30, 2010, 02:18:34 AM »
Hey people, newb here...

I'm in the market for a new Bass head and I prefer vintage equipment.  I've owned an Acoustic 150b in the past and I rocked a lot of large venues with that head and a Bergantino NV610.
While that was a great sounding rig, I wish it had a touch more bottom... perhaps the Sunn would provide that?  I've never been able to compare the two amps side by side thru the same cab before.

I'm a guitarist who played Bass in a rock trio for 4-5 years.  I play with a pick 90% of the time.  I love the John Entwistle tone, etc.  I usually use a P-bass but I'm about to build a 'Fenderbird' with a Mike Lull T-Bird pickup in the neck position (I'll buy the bridge model when I can afford it! haha)

Thanks for your help/opinions :)

Mike00

• View Profile
Re: Acoustic 150b vs. Sunn Coliseum Bass
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2010, 12:27:01 PM »
No one?  :sad:   perhaps you guys have talked about these to death.  As a moderator on another forum, I totally understand haha.

I'm planning to buy a new amp in the next 10 days...  I found a really clean 150B w/ a not so clean 106 cab (1 replaced spkr) for $300.  It's a great deal but if the Coliseum Bass sounds way better, I'll hold out.   Will the Coliseum do the almost tube-like midrange 'bark' like the 150B?  but with more bottom end?

I use a Bergantino NV610

dadagoboi

• huh?...HUH?
    • View Profile
    • CATALDO BASSES
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2010, 12:39:27 PM »
I used to play a '77 Tbird thru 3 Coliseums (lead, bass and slave) and 3 SVT cabs.  All I can say is I liked it as did Michael Anthony who was playing an Acoustic 150 that soon disappeared...

Psycho Bass Guy

• View Profile