Author Topic: Anyone play Flats exclusively in a hard rock, yet "versatile" setting?  (Read 3198 times)

Deathshead

• View Profile
hey guys, I have been playing bass for about 15 years now, for most of that time I played fenders with rotosound stainless rounds..changing them once a month.

After a small hiatus in playing, I tried a set of Rotosound steve harris flats, great, but WAY too high in tension,

Went down to 45-105s and they are perfect for me.  plus they last!, had a set on a P-bass for over a year and still sound great and are still very brite. 

So after 2 years of running only these roto flats, to me playing a bass with roundwounds now just feels and sounds tinny, brassy, and just cheap.

Anyone running strictly flats? I play a wide spectrum of music, from classic/punk rock, 80s, to jamiroqui style funk, and they are alot more versatile then many make them out to be.

all in all Flats make your bass sound like a bass! with that nice strong fundamental,
and what else sounds better with a pick and a svt with the gain cranked 3/4 up?

« Last Edit: January 27, 2010, 06:38:25 AM by Deathshead »

Deathshead

• View Profile
Re: Anyone play Flats exclusively in a hard rock, yet "versatile" setting?
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2010, 07:16:10 AM »
ha, after doing a little googling it seems that there are like 1000 threads just like mine,

uwe

• Administrator
  • Enabler ...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2010, 07:29:53 AM »
I probably enjoy playing flats more, but the "angry piano sound"-kid in me still rears its roundwound head sometimes. They both have a place.
We've taken too much for granted ... and all the time it had grown ...
From techno seeds we first planted ... evolved a mind of its own ...

bassvirtuoso

• My God, it's full of chrome!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2010, 07:50:31 AM »