Author Topic: I was just gifted a David Eden VT.40 amp  (Read 2794 times)

Lightyear

• Hey! You damn kids get off my *@%*~&# lawn!
    • View Profile
I was just gifted a David Eden VT.40 amp
« on: July 23, 2011, 09:39:33 AM »
But it's broken.  One my of oldest friends just called and said that this amp powers up just fine and at about three to four minutes the LEDs for the EQ section fade out and the sound dies.  He tells me that the mains switch stays on.  This amp is from Eden's early run, dated '94, and my buddy tells me that it was a very pricey beast when he bought it.  He's not interested in spending any more money to fix it as he already spent some dough on new EQ tubes thinking that was the problem.  To me it sounds like the power supply for the EQ section is failing under load but that's just my off the wall guess.

PBG do you have any thoughts on this one?  While I'm a qualified elctronics tech I'm not an amp guy - I can spot cold solder joints, swollen caps, burnt components, check voltages and the like but I'm not much of a tube guy - even though I covered them in detail in tech school.
« Last Edit: July 23, 2011, 12:29:35 PM by Lightyear »

Psycho Bass Guy

• View Profile
Re: I was just gifted a David Eden VT.40 amp
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 04:07:36 PM »
Yeah, I'm betting you need to replace some supply filter caps and/or possibly a voltage doubler circuit or two for the tubes coming off the PT. The nice thing about the amp is that its main power section is low voltage; only the tube preamp will have high voltage caps. The VT40's had the Demeter preamp. Finding a schematic with operational voltages listed will tell you exactly where to look. 

dadagoboi

• huh?...HUH?
    • View Profile
    • CATALDO BASSES
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2011, 04:47:27 PM »