Author Topic: NBD: MM  (Read 3320 times)

ilan

• View Profile
NBD: MM
« on: June 02, 2018, 10:51:54 PM »
Bass #16...

My youngest son (15.5) was a jazz pianist until last year he switched to guitar and bass. He's self-taught, his background was more than sufficient for that, and he plays really well. He started on my short-scale '78 Fender Musicmaster, until he wanted to upgrade. He tried everything, and asked for a MM Stingray. I found this on eBay - bought for $818, and free shipping is significant (I'm located in Israel, shipping a bass is typically $150).

https://www.ebay.com/itm/273196946962

It arrived on Thursday. Really superb bass, fresh set of strings, Ishibashi had it perfectly set-up before shipping, ridiculously low action and still no fret buzz. The kid was ecstatic.

The guy who bought the same bass twice — first in 1977 and again in 2023

Highlander

• There Ken be only one...
    • View Profile
Re: NBD: MM
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2018, 11:28:03 PM »
 8) (should have placed his hands on your upright and told him learn before you earn... :mrgreen:)
The random mind of a Silver Surfer...
If research was easy, it wouldn't need doing...
Staring at that event horizon is a dirty job, but someone has to do it; something's going to come back out of it one day...

amptech

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2018, 05:51:44 AM »
Wow, nice. Always liked them, have not seen many of them up here. What vintage is it?

Dave W

• Administrator
  • Got time to breathe, got time for music
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2018, 06:18:13 AM »
Looks great, especially for its age. I'm guessing early 90s with the chrome top battery box.

4stringer77

• View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2018, 08:57:55 AM »
Congrats. He can play AC/DC or Chic in style with that one.
Contrary to what James Bond says, a good Gibson should be stirred, not shaken.

ilan

• View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2018, 02:43:10 PM »