Author Topic: problems with TNT130 - worth fixing?  (Read 7501 times)

ack1961

• View Profile
problems with TNT130 - worth fixing?
« on: June 09, 2010, 08:18:34 AM »
Hello,

I've got a older (probably 10-15 years old) Peavey TNT130 (1x15) combo amp that we use for practice in my home.  It's developed quite a rattle at anything louder than 30% (sounds akin to when stereo speakers need to be re-coned).  Having never taken apart an amp, I was just wondering if it's worth diving into myself...I'm no electrician, however, I can take stuff apart and solder with the best of em.

I mean, it's not about the money invested.  It's an OK amp that I bought used for about $100 and we've used it for several years.  My son has done some small gigs with it. We're in the habit of giving away basses & amps that we don't use very much to friends with children who want to learn.  This amp is a candidate, but I wouldn't give it away without it being in good order.  It may not make any sense to most people, but I would sell it broken on CL before I gave it away broken.

Are there basic tests I can conduct here to verify if the speaker is "blown" and needs a replacement, or if it needs to be re-coned, or if I've got some other terminal problem with it.

Sorry for such basic questions, but I don't want to soak any more money than I need to into this thing.

Thanks,
Steve
Have Fun.  Be Nice.  Mean People Suck.

patman

• View Profile
Re: problems with TNT130 - worth fixing?
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2010, 08:26:41 AM »
Push gently on the speaker cone and listen/feel for the voice coil rubbing...if you hear or feel anything, it's toast.  At least, this is the way I check for a cooked speaker.

Somebody may come up with something more scientific here in a moment.

Pat

Highlander

• There Ken be only one...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 09:42:49 AM »
That works for me...