Author Topic: Gigging with a house backline  (Read 5808 times)

slinkp

• View Profile
    • slinkp home page
Gigging with a house backline
« on: August 21, 2016, 08:36:07 AM »
Got a gig coming up in a small bar. They have a house backline and there are 4 bands playing in 4 hours, so minimizing transition time would be good.

But... the bass amp is one I've no experience with. Hmmm. 
They say "SWR Bass750 bass head through a 4x10" bass cab and direct out."

I have played other SWRs long ago, but not that exact model as far as I know. I tend to stay away from SWRs; they seem to have a characteristic scoop to the sound, and I'm all about the mids.  Also I like a bit of dirt, and they tend to be very clean.

My band plays very very rarely (we're averaging a gig a year). So when we do, I like to make it count!

Options:

- Just deal with the house amp

- Bring my Genz-Benz head and swap it out if I can't get a decent sound in less than two minutes of fiddling

- Bring the Greco T-bird which has so much mids it can survive almost any amount of scoop

I've been burned by house amps before.  But usually because they're drastically under-powered.  This one should at least have plenty of power, jjudging by the specs.

What would you do?

Basses: Gibson lpb-1, Gibson dc jr tribute, Greco thunderbird, Danelectro dc, Ibanez blazer.  Amps: genz benz shuttle 6.0, EA CXL110, EA CXL112, Spark 40.  Guitars: Danelectro 59XT, rebuilt cheap LP copy

gearHed289

• View Profile
    • Book of faces...
Re: Gigging with a house backline
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2016, 09:58:31 AM »
I'm pretty much with you about SWR, but I would just deal with it and keep things simple. Turn the horn on the cab way down and turn up the input gain and high mids on the amp. And bring the T bird!

Granny Gremlin

• View Profile
    • Granny Gremlin home page
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2016, 11:27:17 AM »